Picosa: Masterpieces, New and Old

  • Share:
Name: Picosa: Masterpieces, New and Old
Date: December 11, 2018
Time: 7:30 PM - 9:30 PM CST
Event Description:

PROGRAM Shulamit Ran | An Ode to Nina: Brave Chicken and the Ogre (piccolo/flute & clarinet/bass clarinet) *World Premiere Ludwig van Beethoven | Piano Trio No. 5 in D Major, Op. 70, No. 1 “Ghost” (violin/cello/piano) Johannes Brahms | Trio in a minor, op 114 (clarinet/cello/piano) Jennifer Higdon | Smash (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano) PICOSA ARTISTS Jennie Oh Brown | flute Andrea R. DiOrio | clarinet Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin Paula Kosower | cello Kuang-Hao Huang | piano Jonathon Kirk |

Composer-in-Residence A concert of chamber music favorites gets a new bit of sparkle with the addition of works by two Pulitzer Prize winning, ground-breaking composers: Shulamit Ran and Jennifer Higdon. Jennifer Higdon's music is among the most frequently performed of this generation. Her virtuosic chamber work Smash for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano is a tour de force that audiences are sure to find thrilling. Shulamit Ran's duo An Ode to Nina: Brave Chicken and the Ogre is an introspective work written in memory of Nina Frenkel, an artist who passed away in 2015. Frenkel's works will be displayed during the performance and also as a prelude and postlude to the concert.

An Ode to Nina: Brave Chicken and the Ogre was written for piccolo/flute and clarinet/bass clarinet, and Picosa musicians are honored to premiere it and to include it in this season. At the crux of this concert are two epic chamber music trios. The Piano Trio No. 5 in D Major, Op. 70, No. 1 "Ghost" is among the most revered works within Beethoven's large oeuvre of chamber music for strings and piano. Brahms' Trio in a minor, op. 114 for clarinet, cello, and piano is a personal favorite for Picosa musicians and audiences alike. Audiences will have the opportunity to contrast these great works within this concert program, a treat and a rare opportunity for music aficionados and all music lovers.

FACEBOOK EVENT LINK: https://www.facebook.com/events/346683675890787/?ti=cl
Mayslake Peabody Estate
1717 31st St.
Oak Brook, 60523
Date/Time Information:
Tuesday, December 11
7:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Contact Information:
TICKETS: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/concert-two-masterpieces-new-and-old-tickets-52988873146 General Admission - $25.00 Senior - $10.00 College Student/Accompanying Parent - $10.00 High School and Younger – Free
Set a Reminder:
Enter your email address below to receive a reminder message.